VenuesWest is a government statutory authority, with the Board reporting to the Minister for Sport and Recreation.


The VenuesWest Board reports to the Hon Dr Tony Buti MLA. Minister Buti is the Minister for Finance; Lands; Sport and Recreation; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests.


VenuesWest provides for the establishment of a Board of Management to administer the legislation established under the Western Australian Sports Centre Trust. The Board is appointed by and is responsible to the Minister for Sport and Recreation.

Mr Graham Goerke was appointed to the Board of VenuesWest on 12 March 2007. He was appointed as Chair on 1 July 2018, and his current term expires on 30 June 2022. Graham was a senior partner at law firm Jackson McDonald until December 2015 and has over 30 years' experience in commercial law. He Chaired the Jackson McDonald board for 10 years. He is currently the Chair of Edmund Rice Education Australia; a member of the Council of National Trust WA; and a Director on the Australian Council of National Trusts.


Ms Priya Cooper 

Ms Cooper has joined the board for a minimum of two years taking effect 1 July 2018. Priya is an Australian world champion disabled swimmer, winning nine Paralympic  gold medals, multiple world championship medals and setting a number of world records. Significantly, Priya won the most medals of any Australian athlete at the Barcelona Paralympic games in 1992, which saw her honoured with an Order of Australia Medal for her service to sport, and becoming an Australia Day Ambassador. Furthermore, in 1996, Priya was appointed Female Captain of the Australian swimming team at the 10th Paralympic Games in Atlanta, Georgia and was named Young Australian of the Year for Sport in 1999. 

Ms Kaylene Gulich

Ms Gulich has over 19 years’ central Government agency experience in fiscal management, economic advice, asset management and policy development.  Currently holding the position of Chief Executive Officer of the WA Treasury Corporation, she is experienced in the provision of complex and accurate advice to Ministers, Cabinet and the broader public sector to support informed decision making and effective and efficient service delivery.


Professor Paul Johnson 

Professor Johnson joined the Board on 1 July 2015 with his term being extended to 30 June 2020. Paul is currently Warden of the Forrest Research Foundation and was previously Vice-Chancellor of the University of Western Australia as well as serving as Vice-Chancellor of La Trobe University in Victoria and as Deputy Director of the London School of Economics. Paul has served on a number of professional Councils, learned societies and professional bodies and has held the position of Director of UniSuper, and member of the Fund’s Investment Committee. He is also a Member of the Advisory Council of the Australian Research Council.

Ms Mary Anne Stephens

Ms Stephens was appointed to the Board on 29 October 2015, and her term has been extended to 31 October 2021. Mary Anne brings over 25 years’ experience in finance and operational roles both in the commercial and not for profit sectors, and key strengths in finance, risk and governance. She has spent the last 13 years of her career in roles focusing on strategy, finance, risk, governance and business intelligence.

Ms Susan Hunt

Ms Hunt joined the Board on 1 September 2016 with her term recently being extended to 31 August 2021. Susan is the Chief Executive Officer of LotteryWest and Healthway, having previously been the Chief Executive Officer of Perth Zoo since 2004, and will bring with her a wealth of commercial and facilities management expertise. Susan has also been President of the World Association of Zoos and Aquaria since 2015 and was awarded a Public Service Medal in 2010 for her outstanding contribution to conservation and public service.

Ms Linda Wayman

Ms Wayman joined the Board on 1 July 2017, and her term expires on 30 June 2021.  Linda brings significant experience in major sporting events, media exposure and tourism, and marketing and communication strategies.  For almost 15 years, she was General Manager of Southern Cross Austereo Perth, overseeing radio stations mix94.5 and hit92.9.  She is also a former Telstra Business Woman of the Year, and an inductee into the WA Women’s Hall of Fame.

Mr Scott Henderson

Mr Henderson joined the Board on 1 July 2017 for a two year term expiring on 30 June 2020.  Scott brings over 20 years’ strategic and management expertise in ASX listed and major corporations, as well as a significant involvement in sport having spent four years as CEO of Netball WA. His experience across a diverse range of other Boards will also bring further breadth of knowledge to our organisation.

Ms Donna Oxenham

Ms Oxenham was appointed to the Board of VenuesWest on 1 September 2017, and her current term expires on 31 August 2020. A researcher at the University of Western Australia, Donna’s 20 year sporting career saw her achieve 35 state and two national titles in the sport of Judo. Donna has worked with Indigenous people, groups and organisations throughout Western Australia and the broader Aboriginal Indigenous community, particularly within the fields of arts, history, cultural heritage and native title.


David Etherton is the Chief Executive Officer of VenuesWest and leader of the Executive Team. The organisation has four major directorates;

Portfolio Management

  • Contract Management
  • Leases, Licenses and Agreements
  • Venue Acquisition
  • Engineering and Asset Planning
  • Capital Works
  • Optus Stadium Project

Venue Management

  • Venue Operations, Customer Service and Sales
  • Programs and Services
  • Aquatics
  • Commercial Operations
  • Event Management
  • Catering

Strategy, Marketing and Governance

  • Strategic Planning
  • Policy and Governance
  • Research and Reporting
  • Marketing
  • Corporate Communications
  • Organisational Change Projects
  • Executive Services

Corporate Services

  • Human Resources
  • Finance
  • Procurement
  • Information Technology
  • OSH and Wellbeing