VenuesWest has appointed long-serving board member Graham Goerke as the organisation's new chairperson and welcomed Paralympian and Order of Australia Medal recipient Priya Cooper to the board.

  • VenuesWest welcomes new chairperson Graham Goerke and new board member Priya Cooper
  • Outgoing chairperson Richard Muirhead thanked for his dedicated service

Sport and Recreation Minister Mick Murray today announced the new appointments, thanking outgoing chairperson Richard Muirhead for his dedication and commitment to the organisation.

Mr Goerke, a former senior partner at law firm Jackson McDonald, has more than 30 years of experience in commercial law and an extensive governance background.

Ms Cooper is a retired Australian world champion swimmer and winner of nine Paralympic gold medals. She is an Order of Australia Medal recipient and Young Australian of the Year (Sport) winner.

The VenuesWest board - including Mary Anne Stephens, Robert Kennedy, Susan Hunt, Professor Paul Johnson, Donna Oxenham, Linda Wayman, and Scott Henderson - is one of the State Government's most gender balanced and diverse. Mr Goerke and Ms Cooper's appointments begin on July 1, 2018.

Comments attributed to Sport and Recreation Minister Mick Murray:

"I welcome Graham Goerke's continued service to VenuesWest in his new position as chairperson. Graham has given excellent service to the organisation as a board member and is well placed to lead VenuesWest into its next chapter.

"I extend a warm welcome on behalf of the State Government to Priya Cooper. Priya is a champion sportswoman and will be a terrific asset for VenuesWest.

"I thank outgoing chairperson Richard Muirhead for his valuable contribution to VenuesWest.

"Not only did Richard achieve high-level success in helping to commission and appoint an operator to Optus Stadium, he provided a dedicated presence in all areas of VenuesWest operations - from the grassroots to the elite."